Money Diary, Day 2

I’m going to try out this new Money Diary project for an entire month. There’s a lot that’s different for the next month or so due to the move, and getting ready for back to school, and summer travel, so a month should be a good start to tracking our time and money while we settle into our new house.

img_8104
Unrelated ride photo, cause I don’t do posts without photos!
Day Two: Tuesday
6am: I sleep in because it’s so cozy in our dark room with the AC going, cuddled up with husband, dog and judgy white cat. Eventually I heave myself up to walk the dog while husband hops in the shower. Lunch today is cut fruit from Costco and a burrito from Winco, a local employee owned grocery chain. Coffee made, dog fed and we’re out the door a few minutes earlier than yesterday.
11:45am: We got married a few months ago, but with buying the house I haven’t had a chance to get to the DMV. I drove myself in today, so I head over after checking the wait times for the various offices near me. I get my name and address changed, but have to wait for them to send me my new driver’s license in the mail. Thankfully, it’s cheaper than a renewal!  $26.50 I stop at Starbucks on the drive back to work and snag a venti Frappachino, the heat almost hitting 100*, punishing to us temperate climate Oregonians. $4.50
3:15pm: My boss is in California at our company’s global home for a quarterly meeting, and I’m worried about the animals at home in this heat, so I cut out early. I snag the kid who is still a bit tired from his travels and we crank the AC once we’re home and watch Brooklyn 99 and unpack clothes. I check our bank account as I do everyday and notice the dog’s BarkBox subscription has been charged, which means his monthly box full of treats and toys should be here in a few days. They had a good deal going on to double the normal size, a treat for our new house! $37 I spend a few minutes on Amazon and purchase two gifts from a coworker’s wedding registry (we’re heading up to their wedding this weekend). I pick the same dog crate we have for their Aussie Shepard, and a cat grass toy cause I figure they’ll appreciate stuff for their pets over housewares. $70.10
5:30pm: Husband is home, this heat is super sucky, and we have zero motivation for doing much of anything. I hop across our small town on a mutually agreed upon pizza run, stopping to pick up a load of boxes from our old rental on the way. $32.50 We sprawl on the couch with the animals staring at us and watch Shrek 3 with our pizza, Gatorade and hard orange soda. It’s the first night I really feel at home in our new place, despite the garage full of bins and boxes yet to dig through. Another early night for us, with showers and story time (the kid reads to us!) and settled in by 830. Such party animals we are!
Daily Total: $170.60

Daily Life Money Diary

WeAreOnTheLoose View All →

Endurance riding junkie who works to pay the bills, and remembers to be a decent mom and wife on the side.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Walder's Way Equestrian Center

The journey of champions!

Little Old Lady Comedy

Comedy That Matters (To Us)

Elin's Era

Life under the thinking tree

DC UL Backpacking

wake early, walk far, and travel light

The Wandering Lindstroms

Footloose in a Fifth Wheel

Serena's Lenses

Travel, Food, Lifestyle

AmaNews Info

news from around

%d bloggers like this: