Money Diary, Day 3

img_8088
Day Three: Wednesday
5:30am: I bounce up a little earlier than I have been, the heat wave is supposed to break today and the two early nights have been good. I take the dog for a longer walk, enjoying the cool, cloudy sky and the utterly quiet neighborhood as the dog does his thing. Yesterday I whipped up a ‘kid routine’ chart that I posted on the fridge, so kid and husband are both pretty much ready to roll when I get home. Lunch today is leftover pizza and fruit, with a side of slightly stale Pirate Booty.
11:50am: Husband has a meeting in my building (he normally works across the campus from me) so we eat lunch together and chat work stuff. He’s been in this company a long time but we work in two totally different departments (I support the safety team, he’s R&D aka Pilot) so we rarely deal with the same people. In half an hour he’s off and I’m settled back at my desk, hunting up wedding thank you cards online. We had a courthouse wedding in April but we’d still like to send something out to our family and close friends who helped us out. I also hop on Amazon and purchase a 50 pound bag of dog food and look at nightlights for the kid’s room, then see a flash sale for kid’s shoes (how does he go through so many???) $58.34
2:30pm: I need a break from my current project of reorganizing our team’s Sharepoint pages, so I take a walk outside and smell the compost from the nearby business and realize the heat wave hasn’t totally broken. I snag a bottle of Frappachino from the mini-market 10 feet from my cube (that place is a terrible temptation!) and reload my Market card. $10 reload, $2.50 drink I’m glad I grabbed the coffee as an hour later I’m dealing with a difficult coworker, who didn’t see the attachment on the email I sent about my project and so was totally confused. *headesk moment*
5:30pm: We both pick up the kid from daycare and pay that bill (usually we pay the first of the month, but he skipped two weeks). $400 Soon we’re home with kid in tow and dog is, as ever, thrilled to see us while the cat, sprawled out on the coffee table, looks unimpressed until we turn on the AC in the bedroom. Kid is super tired so he wants to skip swimming. I grab another load of boxes from our old house (so close to being done!) while husband uses the InstantPot to whip up brown rice and Korean Mandu dumplings we grabbed at Costco. The kid declares he “can eat this meal all the time!” while the dog stares at us through the French doors to the porch from his pool, cooling off in true Boxer style. Husband does the dishes with the kid now that we have a dishwasher and we chat about paying for cleaners for the rental or getting a pantry from Ikea instead. Once again, all of us are tucked in by 9pm, but the weekend is in sight!
Daily Total: $470.84

Daily Life Money Diary

WeAreOnTheLoose View All →

Endurance riding junkie who works to pay the bills, and remembers to be a decent mom and wife on the side.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Walder's Way Equestrian Center

The journey of champions!

Little Old Lady Comedy

Comedy That Matters (To Us)

Elin's Era

Life under the thinking tree

DC UL Backpacking

wake early, walk far, and travel light

The Wandering Lindstroms

Footloose in a Fifth Wheel

Serena's Lenses

Travel, Food, Lifestyle

AmaNews Info

news from around

%d bloggers like this: